Too tired to sleep? That’s me!

I don’t know about you but I have been feeling REALLY tired of late… So I was interested to read an article by Dr John Douillard of lifespa.com where he said:

Insomnia is a condition whereby people think that if they cannot get to sleep they have too much energy. They are often wired and simply cannot fall asleep. What I have found in my clinical practice is that most people who cannot sleep at night are, in fact, exhausted. Odd as it may seem, the body needs energy to calm or sedate itself for sleep. Without energy, we stay awake, “wired and tired”. 

That is where I have been for the past few weeks – “wired and tired” – so it is with regret that I have to tell you I have had to go back onto my Bipolar medication to see if that would bring my bodyclock back into balance again. I was so excited to tell you about coming off the meds and feel like a bit of a fool for having to go back on them but I guess I really do have an illness as I had been feeling distinctly unwell again with symptoms of mania rising up quickly.

So now I am planning to try a few of Dr Douillard’s suggestions:

  • Meditate twice daily.  Sleep research studies have shown that meditation reduces the time of sleep onset to normal in patients with insomnia.
  • Maintain a regular daily routine: rise, meditate, eat sleep, work exercise and play at the same time every day.  Go to bed by 10pm, which is the end of the Kapha period when the mind and body are naturally drowsier.  If you are not currently accustomed to being regular about your routine, you may want to start by first writing down a schedule to follow for the first few weeks.
  • Eat Vata-pacifying Foods:  If the mind is very active at bedtime follow a Vata-pacifying diet or light Vata diet.  Have an early, light supper, such as soup or hot cereal, toast, warm milk at least three hours before bedtime.
  • Enjoy dynamic and fulfilling activities during the day.
  • Be sure to enjoy some light entertainment each day.  Humorous books, movies or being in pleasant situations with family and friends will all fulfill this recommendation.
  • Be Calm:  To the extent possible, avoid situations which tend to cause anxiety, worry, or anger.

I hope that these suggestions will help me to regulate my mood swings which will, in turn, mean I can get a good night’s sleep for a change! After all, studies link disturbed sleep with increased cortisol production (a stress hormone) and weight gain and I definitely don’t want that! I have other plans to help bring my life back into balance and I will tell you about these soon … so keep reading!

Victoria

About Victoria Cunningham-Downey

A Yogini, Pilates Instructor and Teacher Trainer I have travelled the world in pursuit of happiness and found it back here at home with my husband and my dog!

Posted on March 15, 2012, in Self-help stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

