Want to improve your communication skills?

It has been AGES since I last posted anything here. I mean months. I kept meaning to but at first I was so busy after my big holiday and then I just wasn’t sure how to start communicating again. Until I read this email from Danielle la Porte in my inbox today:


Then communicate.

Our most common communication blunder is not that we’re insensitive, or forceful, or misdirected. It’s that we fail to communicate at all.

We swallow. We hedge. We delay. We punish with silence. We freeze with fear. We open our mind to assumptions but keep our mouths shut. We lock down. We just don’t say anything.

Most often, even weak or wobbly communication is far better than shutting down completely. Sincerity and courage go a lot further than “polished” communication skills any day.

Have the conversation. Say how you feel. Ask the question. Bring it up. Stumble with good intentions. Fly with an open heart. Communicate.

I LOVE this! I am making an intention to write weekly (even if it’s weakly!) so expect some more thoughts on stretching your body and your mind from me soon.

Victoria

About Victoria Cunningham-Downey

A Yogini, Pilates Instructor and Teacher Trainer I have travelled the world in pursuit of happiness and found it back here at home with my husband and my dog!

Posted on October 8, 2012, in Self-help stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

