Sweet Tooth Solution Smoothie by Renee Heigel

Oh, I’ve been on a bit of a roller coaster with my diet recently. I was doing quite well (and even lost a stone since returning from holidays!) but then my Uncle died and I reached for the sugar bowl. Well, not literally, but what else could you call an entire box of Matchmakers/a bag of Thorntons toffee/a couple of bags of fudge/a box of chocolates/and so on/and so on/until I made myself sick/more than once???

So today I found this recipe from Renee Heigel and I’m going to try it. I’m using Green & Black’s cocoa powder instead of cacao and a normal blender instead of a fancy Vitamix. But I’m looking forward to having a smoothie that satisfies my sweet tooth without leaving me with this feeling of self-loathing that I get when I eat too much refined sugar.

Sweet Tooth Solution Smoothie

May 30, 2012 By

Ingredients

  • 1 banana
  • 2 dates (pitted)
  • 2 handfuls of spinach
  • 2 Tbsp of Cacao powder
  • 1 cup of water
  • 1 cup ice cubes

Instructions

  1. Add all ingredients into your vitamix or blender. Blend until smooth.

Quick notes

Use less spinach until you get used to the taste

Variations

I like to add additional almond milk on occasion. Chia or Hemp Seeds go well You may use a maca powder or green powder too

Yum, yum!

Victoria

About Victoria Cunningham-Downey

A Yogini, Pilates Instructor and Teacher Trainer I have travelled the world in pursuit of happiness and found it back here at home with my husband and my dog!

Posted on November 11, 2012, in Yoga Practice and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

